Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Martyrdom - A Coloring Book

Well, this is certainly one of the most interesting coloring books I have come across.  Each page is a fairly horrific death scene.  Gruesome, yes? But also educational.  The death scenes are accompanied by a fully detailed description of how the individual became a saint or martyr, the time period, the manner of death of course, and what they are remembered for today. 

Definitely geared toward toward the youthful crowd - but not too young.  My 14 year old boy had two friends over and they sat and read it out loud to each other in length. They kept yelling for more red crayons.  

This book will need to be approved by the parent before getting into the hands of the children, but if the parents are game, you at least have them reading. 


by Hallie Fryd and illustrated by Julia Gfrörer
Sept. 29, 2015
Zest Books

The lives of the saints are filled with inspiring, life-changing moments—but the deaths of the martyrs are where you’ll find the real “Oh, hell no!” moments of history. This adult (very adult, as the body count will quickly indicate) coloring book gives aspiring crayon and paper artists the chance to hone their craft while buffing up their knowledge of Catholic history and tales. The attending stories will go down pretty easy at cocktail hours as well.

Each intricately detailed illustration leaves plenty of room for interpretation. How will you render the sea that drowned St. Clement (or the anchor that was tied around his neck at the time)? The clubs and arrows that stilled St. Valentine’s heart? The gladiator that finished St. Perpetua? And what about the scene surrounding St. Elmo when he passed on? The lives and deaths of the saints are shockingly detailed, but in the text they always appear in black and white—and now it’s time to color. (Pro tip: Make sure you have more than one red crayon handy.)


Idgie Says:
What a fun book that allows you to take a story that is loved and actually trace the paths the characters took via an imagined map of that story.  

I would love to have this book beside the one I was reading as a "reference guide".  To see just what the home of the rabbits in Watership Down looked like, the distance they traveled to find their way to a hopefully safe place, etc. - that would be a fantastic addition to the story.

The illustrations are fabulous.  This would be a fantastic gift for a book lover.  I love my copy!



by Andrew DeGraff
Oct. 2, 2015
Zest Books


This incredibly wide-ranging collection of maps — all inspired by literary classics — offers readers a new way of looking at their favorite fictional worlds. Andrew DeGraff’s stunningly detailed artwork takes readers deep into the landscapes from The OdysseyHamlet, Pride and Prejudice, Invisible Man, A Wrinkle in Time, Watership Down, A Christmas Carol, and more. Sure to reignite a love for old favorites as well as spark fresh interest in more recent works, Plotted provides a unique new way of appreciating the lands of the human imagination.

Girls Who Travel - Available Now!

GIRLS WHO TRAVEL by Nicole Trivilas
December 1, 2015; Berkley Books Trade Paperback; $15.00; ISBN: 9780425281444
For readers of Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella comes a breezy, travel-inspired rom-com about wanderlust, “roadmance,” and the bravery it takes to write your own narrative. 

The short story on which this novel is based was one of the most widely read stories of 2013 on Wattpad—downloaded over a half million times—and an abridged version of the manuscript was chosen by Marian Keyes as winner of Wattpad's “Marian Keyes Short Story Contest.” 

 Author Nicole Trivilas is one of the most followed Wattpad users of 2013 and a real-life globetrotter who has visited over thirty countries and every continent except Antarctica. Her novel explores the gray space between who you are and who you imagine yourself to be; and the difference between traveling—and traveling towards the future you want.