Monday, August 8, 2016

Whitefern - a V.C. Andrews® Book

Idgie Says:
While this "author" continues to churn out books on a regular basis filled with all sorts of naughty family drama and semi-paranormal events, I still see the difference between the books the actual V.C. Andrews wrote and these newer ones where her name is merely a copyright. 

I'm not saying these books are bad, but as someone that grew up with Flowers in the Attic there is a noticeable difference. So my opinion of these books might be a bit skewed.  To me they are "okay", but they don't grip the imagination as much. 

This novel has plenty of intrigue in it, taking up  where My Sweet Audrina left off - same house, same characters.  The dead keep talking, mysterious events occur and a husband slowly becomes something to be feared.

V.C. Andrews® 
Pocket Books
July 26, 2016

One of the most popular storytellers of all time, V.C. Andrews® layers psychological suspense with sheer terror in this continuation of Audrina’s unthinkable family saga.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Flowers in the Attic, WHITEFERN by V.C. Andrews®  is the long awaited sequel for more of Audrina’s story since My Sweet Audrina“beautifully written, macabre, and thoroughly nasty” (Daily Express)aired on Lifetime! 

Whitefern swallowed Audrina’s childhood—and now the sprawling Victorian mansion threatens her adult life, too…Audrina remembers a better time, when her husband, Arden, was a young man with a heart filled with devotion for her. He didn’t used to be this ambitious, this expansive…this cruel. But then, the death of Audrina’s father changed a great many things. When the reading of her father’s will reveals that Audrina herself will control fifty-one percent of the family brokerage, the halls of Whitefern again don’t feel safe. Arden’s protestations become frantic, nearly violent. So while Audrina didn’t anticipate running the family business, she’s curious to do so. And she can’t help but wonder what had made her father change his will at the last minute. What did he know about Arden that she didn’t? Trapped in the middle of it all: her fragile, simple sister—the beautiful, trusting Sylvia. Audrina promised her father she’d watch over the young woman. But after years of relative quiet, the dark days of Whitefern may have returned…

One of the most popular authors of all time, V.C. Andrews has been a bestselling phenomenon since the publication of Flowers in the Attic, first in the renowned Dollanganger family series, which includes Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, and Garden of Shadows. The family saga continues with Christopher’s Diary: Secrets of Foxworth, Christopher’s Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger, and Secret Brother.  V.C. Andrews has written more than seventy novels, which have sold over 106 million copies worldwide and have been translated into twenty-five foreign languages. Please visit